First LP

"Features Stu Cook and Doug Clifford -Special Thanks to Tom Fogerty"  Released 1976


1. Sixteen Tons [M. Travis] (2:59)
2. Who I Really Am [D. Harrison] (3:03)
3. Rock 'n Roll Records [D. Harrison] (2:40)
4. Fame and Fortune [D. Harrison] (3:57)
5. Sometimes Loving You [R. Da Shiell] (5:45)


1. Romance [D. Harrison](3:04)
2. Sweetwater William [R. Da Shiell](2:34)
3. Barrom Dancing Girl [D. Harrison](3:56)
4. A Bit of Love [R. Da Shiell](2:53)
5. Living Another Day [D. Harrison](4:30)

The Don Harrison Band (Liner Photo: clockwise)

  • The Don Harrison Band album coverSTU COOK - Bass, Piano, Harmony Vocal

  • RUSSELL Da SHIELL - Lead and Rhythm Guitar, Piano, Harmony Vocals

  • DOUG CLIFFORD - Drums, Percussion, Harmony Vocals

  • DON HARRISON - Singer, Rhythm Guitar, Keyboards

Special Thanks to Bruce Young, Garry Potterton, John Sebastian, Memphis Horns, Ed Bogas, John Tanner and Tom Fogerty Recorded and mixed at Factory Productions, Berkeley, California Produced by The Don Harrison Band Associate Producer: Russ Gary.A Factory Production


by Javier Diaz

There are things hard to understand in life. This album is one of them. Having shared the spotlight in the not so long ago disbanded Creedence, one could have thought that its former members would go for more in a fashion. This record proves beyond doubt that The Don Harrison band was not to be the case. After a musically outstanding contribution to Doug Sahm's Groovers Paradise Stu Cook and Doug Clifford decided to join a relatively unknown singer and his namewsake group, THE DON HARRISON BAND.

Conceived perhaps as a long-haul project, this band issued only two albums for the Atlantic label before passing. Clearly we have a misnomer here for besides Stu Cook on bass and piano and Doug Clifford on drums and percussion and both on harmony vocals, other musical talent lies elsewhere. Don Harrison makes little valuable contributions to the album. His singing is weak and uninspired, much in team with his rhythm guitar and keyboards. Oh, least I forget, he wrote most of the material too, the rest being a few contributions by lead guitarist Russell Da Shiell -same from Tom Fogerty's "MYOPIA". Regardless, the best song by far in this unnecesary album is the classic "Sixteen Tons", again wasted by Harrison's poor singing. The other memorable tunes belong not to Harrison but to band member Da Shiell. If my life were to depend on it, I would name "Sweetwater William", a catchy, rockish tune that does its best to stand out from this uneventful recording. Stu Cook and Doug Clifford could've gone for more indeed.


Click Here if this Image is Missing at the Top